Injured Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara ruled out of Bangladesh T20Is

Zimbabwe rope in pacer Victor Nyauchi with the bulk of the squad remaining similar to the one that won the 2022 T20 Worl

Zimbabwe will miss the services of fast bowlers Blessing Muzarabani and Tendai Chatara for the upcoming three-match T20I series against Bangladesh at home. The rest of the squad, though, is similar to the one that won the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier earlier this month, in Bulawayo.

Muzarabani sustained a tear in his thigh while Chatara suffered a collarbone fracture during the tournament that saw Zimbabwe book one of the last two spots for the T20 World Cup that will be held in Australia in October.

  • Raza, Madhevere, bowlers give Zimbabwe 1-0 lead

  • Raza takes 4 for 8 as Zimbabwe win T20 World Cup Qualifier

  • ICC FTP: Bangladesh land Test and ODI jackpot in 2023-2027 cycle

  • Sikandar Raza: 'Nightmare of not qualifying for 2019 World Cup never went away'

  • Zimbabwe to host India, Bangladesh before a tour to Australia after 18 years

With their two spearheads ruled out, Zimbabwe have roped in pacer Victor Nyauchi in the 15-member squad. While Nyauchi has played only six Tests and a solitary T20I, he has a decent T20 record with 25 wickets in 20 matches at an average of 18.92. Allrounder Tony Munyonga and fast bowler Tanaka Chivanga, who had replaced Chatara and Muzarabani respectively in the squad during the qualifiers, have also been retained.

Zimbabwe had an excellent time at the qualifying tournament, where they remained unbeaten through the group stages before knocking off PNG in the semi final to book their place in the marquee tournament. They then brushed aside Netherlands in the final by 37 runs to lift the trophy, with Sikandar Raza starring with the ball.

Raza, the leading run-scorer and joint leading wicket-taker for Zimbabwe in the qualifiers will once again form the fulcrum of the unit alongside captain Craig Ervine and Sean Williams.

The series against Bangladesh, which consists of three T20Is and three ODIs, sets off a busy couple of months for Zimbabwe, who will be hosting India in mid-August before travelling to Australia for three ODIs – their first visit to the country in 18 years.

The three T20Is against Bangladesh will take place on July 30, 31 and August 2. All matches will be staged in Harare.

Squad: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (wk), Tanaka Chivanga, Craig Ervine (capt), Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Wellington Masakadza, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba, Sean Williams